Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick: Statement Announcing 4 New Chairs


Praises Buckingham for Excellent Job on Senate Nominations

AUSTIN – Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced today that he has selected new chairs for four Senate Committees, prior to the upcoming special session.

Sen. Donna Campbell, R-New Braunfels – Nominations Committee

Sen. Bob Hall, R-Edgewood – Administration Committee

Sen. Kelly Hancock, R-North Richland Hills – Veterans & Border Security Committee

Sen. Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown – Business & Commerce Committee

The Lt. Governor also announced that he is expanding the scope of the Jurisprudence Committee, chaired by Sen. Joan Huffman, R-Houston, to include pension and insurance issues.

While making the announcement, the Lt. Governor also praised Sen. Dawn Buckingham, R-Lakeway, who recently announced that she is leaving the Texas Senate to launch a statewide run for Land Commissioner:

“I want to thank Dawn for doing an excellent job as Chair of the Senate Nominations Committee. She has been committed to the people of her district and the people of Texas. I wish her the very best as she moves on to the next challenge.“