Lt. Gov. Patrick Re-Establishes Select Committee on Texas Ports


AUSTIN – Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced today that he has re-established the Senate Select Committee on Texas Ports to address several pressing issues regarding our state’s ports. In making the announcement, Lt. Gov. Patrick said:

“Our ports are critical to ensuring that Texas competes effectively in the global marketplace. I am particularly concerned that we accommodate our increasing energy production and hydrocarbon exports. I am confident Chairman Creighton will give these issues immediate attention.”

The Senate Select Committee on Texas Ports includes:

Sen. Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe, Chair (Port of Beaumont, Port Arthur and Cedar Bayou)

Sen. Carol Alvarado, D-Houston, Vice Chair (Port of Houston)

Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa, D-McAllen (Port of Corpus Christi)

Sen. Lois Kolkhorst, R-Brenham (Ports of Bay City, Calhoun, Palacios, Victoria and West Calhoun)

Sen. Eddie Lucio, D-Brownsville (Ports of Brownsville, Harlingen, Isabel and Mansfield)

Sen. Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound (Fort Worth Alliance Airport)

Sen. Larry Taylor, R-Friendswood (Ports of Galveston, Houston and Texas City)

Texas Ports create nearly 1.5 million jobs generating $92 billion in personal income.