Lt. Governor Dan Patrick: Statement on Senate Select Committee Report on Violence in Schools and School Security


AUSTIN – Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick issued this statement today upon the release of the final report of the Senate Select Committee on Violence in Schools and School Security:

“Immediately after the tragic school shooting in Santa Fe, I appointed a bi-partisan Select Committee, headed by Senate Education Committee Chairman, Larry Taylor, R-Friendswood, to review comprehensive strategies to address school violence and increase security in our schools and provide me with a report by early August.

“I want to thank Chairman Taylor and the entire Select Committee for completing this difficult task in a very short time frame. The report they issued today reflects their review of input from over 150 witnesses including experts and the public. They focused on issues ranging from infrastructure, including metal detectors and school entry points, to school design. They examined ways to increase communication and collaboration between law enforcement in schools as well as arming school personnel.

“The Select Committee also looked at issues related to the root causes of school violence including mental health, substance abuse, violent video games, social media and other factors.

“In addition to the immediate steps that I have presented to school superintendents to help enhance the security of school entrances and exits, this report will help us develop legislation for a comprehensive school security effort to meet the increased challenges we face today. School security will be a top priority for me in the upcoming legislative session. My goal is for every parent to know their child is safe in their school and for no child to feel afraid. The Select Committee’s report will help us begin work in the next session to reach that goal.”

The Select Committee on Violence in Schools and School Security also includes Sen. Joan Huffman, R-Houston, who serves as vice chair. Sen. Don Huffines, R-Dallas, Sen. Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown, Sen. Kelly Hancock, R-North Richland Hills, Sen. Royce West, D-Dallas, Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr., D-Brownsville, Sen. Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe, and Sen. John Whitmire, D-Houston, serve as members.

To view the final report, click here.