Lt. Governor Patrick Names Three to Assist in Selection of Texas Poet Laureate, State Musician and State Artists Committee


AUSTIN – Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick has appointed three individuals to assist the Texas Commission on the Arts in the selection of the Texas poet laureate, the Texas state musician, and two Texas artists for two-dimensional and three-dimensional media. The selections will be made later next year. The individuals named by the lieutenant governor are:


Catherine Taylor, Dallas

Mary Jane Holmes, Midland

Elizabeth Galtney, Houston


The Texas Poet Laureate, State Musician, and State Artists Committee designates a poet laureate of Texas, a Texas state musician, a Texas state artist for two-dimensional media, and a Texas state artist for three-dimensional media from a list of individuals submitted by the Texas Commission on the Arts.