Lt. Governor Patrick Announces New Round of Appointments


AUSTIN – Today, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced the following Senate appointees:


Windstorm Insurance Legislative Oversight Board

Sen. Eduardo “Eddie” Lucio, Jr.

The Windstorm Insurance Legislative Oversight Board receives information about rules proposed by the Texas Department of Insurance relating to windstorm insurance and submits comments to the insurance commissioner on the proposed rules. It monitors windstorm insurance in this state, including sufficiency of rates, operation of the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association, and availability of coverage. The board also reviews recommendations for legislation proposed by the department or the association. Sen. Lucio will join Sen. Kelly Hancock (co-chair), Sen. Larry Taylor, and Sen. Troy Fraser who continue to serve on the board.


Environmental Flows Advisory Group

Sen. Brandon Creighton
Sen. Lois Kolkhorst

The main scope of the Environmental Flows Advisory Group is to conduct public hearings and studies public policy implications for balancing the demands of our state’s water resources, due to our growing population. Sen. Creighton and Sen. Kolkhorst join Sen. Joan Huffman who continues serving and is designated co-chair.


Legislative Library Board

Sen. Charles Schwertner

The Legislative Library Board’s purpose is to administer the Legislative Reference Library. It’s charged with maintaining a collection of materials for legislative use including providing any assistance requested by members of the legislature in researching and preparing bills and resolutions. Sen. Schwertner joins Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa who continues to serve on the board.


Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science Advisory Board

Sen. Kel Seliger (re-appointed)

The Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science Advisory Board makes recommendations to the dean of the academy concerning admission criteria and policies, extracurricular activities, programs of study, rules of student discipline, and management of the academy and its programs. It conducts an annual evaluation of the programs of the academy, which is a division of the University of North Texas.


“I’m proud of the hard work of each and every Senator appointed to these important boards,” said Patrick. “Their dedication and expertise will benefit the entire state.”