Lt. Governor Patrick Announces Joint Interim Committee Appointments


AUSTIN – Today, Texas Lt. Governor Dan Patrick announced the appointment of five Senate members to the Joint Interim Committee to Study Border Security.

The Joint Interim Committee to Study Border Security will assist with the management and implementation of resources that will help to secure our Texas/Mexico border. After the federal government’s failure to properly secure the border, Texas has taken the steps to stop criminal activity from crossing into our state.

Joint Interim Committee to Study Border Security appointments:
Sen. Brian Birdwell – Co-Chair
Sen. Eduardo “Eddie” Lucio Jr.
Sen. Carlos Uresti
Sen. Bob Hall
Sen. Charles Perry

“This last session, we provided a historic level of funding and resources to our border security efforts,” said Patrick. “These five senators have the insight needed to support the needs of our law enforcement officials along the border,” said Patrick. “National security begins with border security and border security begins in Texas.”