

The Senate of The State of Texas

DAN PATRICK LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

CAPITOL OFFICE State Capitol, Room 2E.13 Post Office Box 12068 Austin, Texas 78711 (512) 463-0001 Fax: (512) 463-8668

May 27, 2022

Commissioner Mike Morath Commissioner of Education Texas Education Agency 1701 North Congress Avenue Austin, Texas 78701-1402

Dear Commissioner Morath:

Thank you for contacting my office to provide information on the remaining funds from the \$100 million appropriated through SB 500 (86th Legislature) for school safety infrastructure. The Texas Education Agency needs to extend any deadline for the grant funding for all school districts and open-enrollment charter schools. This will give our school leaders additional time to secure appropriated funding and prepare for a safe start to the next school year. If funding requests exceed the remaining amount of funds, we need to fully fund those requests.

Given the surplus in Texas Education Agency appropriations, we have the funding available and it will be a matter of the Legislative Budget Board to support the authorization, which I will fully support. If needed, I will reach out to the Speaker of the House and Governor to gather their support as well. Once we reconvene for the upcoming legislative session, the Texas Senate will provide the funding needed in the future years. We will build upon the \$100 million provided in the 86th Legislature for school safety measures, as well as the school safety allotment we now provide through the school finance formulas.

The safety of our children is paramount, and we must take whatever measures are necessary to ensure that our schools have the resources needed to secure their facilities. I appreciate your commitment to the education and safety of all of our children in Texas, and I will continue to work with your agency to ensure every child has a safe school environment.

Sincerely. an Patrick

Lieutenant Governor

Commissioner Mike Morath May 27, 2022 Page 2

cc: Governor Greg Abbott Speaker Dade Phelan Senator Joan Huffman Senator Jane Nelson Senator Charles Schwertner Senator Larry Taylor Senator Brandon Creighton